Textile Design Students Dominate Virginia Jackson Design Awards

Textile Design students won five of nine Virginia Jackson Design Awards, winning prizes in each category of jacquard, dobby and print.

Amanda McGonagle won first place and Megan Foley won honorable mention in the dobby category. Soo Yeun Kim won first place in the print category. Boyoung Moon won second place and Amy Strickland won honorable mention in the jacquard category.

The annual Virginia Jackson Design Awards competition is sponsored by the Educational Foundation of the International Textile Market Association (ITMA), which is producer of the semi-annual Showtime fabric show, where industry leaders present their latest designs to home furnishings manufacturers.

“A big part of the mission of ITMA’s Educational Foundation is to encourage creative individuals to enter the home-furnishings textile field, and we are always thrilled by the excellence of the entries we receive,” said Catherine Morsell, ITMA executive director, in a Home Accents Today article.

The entries were judged on aesthetic form, ability to be manufactured and applicability to furniture products. The winning designs will be displayed at the Showtime event, which will take place June 6 to 9 in High Point, N.C.

Each winner received a monetary award and each first-place winner’s school also received a $1,000 donation to its textile design department. In addition, all expenses are paid for first-place winners to attend the Showtime event, where they will be honored and meet with industry officials.

In total, 58 entries were received from seven schools, including Rhode Island School of Design, Syracuse University and Michigan State University.

Posted in University Headlines