2011 Faculty Awards Presented at Annual Reception

Philadelphia University honored members of its faculty for their hard work and commitment to academic excellence at the 2011 Faculty Reception on May 13.

President Stephen Spinelli Jr., Ph.D., presented awards to several faculty members for their distinguished service to the University this year.

Michael J. Leonard, associate professor of industrial design, received the 2011 President’s Award for Excellence for his work in and out of the classroom, mentoring students and serving as a model educator. “Mike is one of the most experienced industrial designers in the country, and judging by the success of his former students, he is one of the best educators as well,” said President Spinelli. “His positive, driven attitude makes him an extraordinary professor.”

John Pierce, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology, who received the 2010 President’s Award for Excellence, was honored with a special portrait unveiling.  The portrait will be exhibited in the Paul J. Gutman Library with those of previous recipients.

The 2011 Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award was presented to Valerie Hanson, Ph.D., assistant professor of writing, acknowledging her outstanding service to the University and her students in the classroom. The award was presented by Provost Randy Swearer, Ph.D.

Philadelphia University also recognized these distinguished adjunct faculty:

Kestutis Lukas, School of Architecture
Benjamin ‘Nick’ Freeman, School of Business Administration
Robbin Durrie, Continuing and Professional Studies
Michael Kase, School of Design and Engineering
Helen Heinz, School of Liberal Arts
Crystal Smith, School of Science and Health

The University also recognized new retirees Margaret ‘Meg’ Oravetz, assistance dean of the school of design and engineering, and Gary Crowell, dean emeritus and professor of architecture.

Posted in Awards and Accolades, University Headlines