Women’s and Men’s Cross Country Teams Take First and Second in CACC Championships

Sarah Simonetti won her second straight individual CACC championship with a record time.

Philadelphia University cross country runners put on an impressive performance in the Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC) championships on Oct. 23, with the women’s team taking first overall in the conference for the fourth consecutive year and the men’s team placing second.

Sarah Simonetti finished in first place with a record time to claim her second straight CACC individual title, leading the women’s team. All five scoring runners for the Rams placed among the top 11 finishers, giving the University a dominant win and the 11th championship in team history (seven in the New York Collegiate Athletic Conference and four in the CACC).

After winning the 5K race, Simonetti was tabbed as the CACC runner of the year for the second time. Taylor Falvey was the highest finishing freshman to earn the CACC rookie of the year award. Head coach Dave Thomas was voted the conference’s head coach of the year for the third time.

Simonetti completed the event in 18 minutes, 43.21 seconds, smashing the previous CACC record of 19:23.29 set by Georgian Court’s Heather Miara in 2007. Simonetti won the event by 62 seconds.

Falvey finished in third place with a time of 19:52.91. Gabrielle Dei Tos was fourth after crossing the finish line in 19:59.78. Chelsea Attaway posted a time of 20:47.18 to finish in ninth place. Christina Wetzel grabbed the fifth scoring position with an 11th place finish after stopping the clock at 20:55.80. All five runners were named to the All-CACC team.

Meghan McAdorey didn’t figure into the scoring, but nabbed a spot on the all-conference team after coming in 15th place with time of 21:09.65. Anjelica DeNucci rounded out the Lady Ram lineup by finishing in 16th place (21:15.41).

On the men’s side, the Rams had four runners place among the top-15 finishers in Sunday’s race — good enough for a second place finish in the CACC.

Tim Malloy led the Rams with a fifth-place finish after running the five-mile course in 27 minutes, 33.65 seconds. Malloy won the CACC rookie of the year award for being the top-finishing freshman. Tyler Dye (28:20.17) and Alfred Kip Kirui (28:26.33) came in 10th and 11th place, respectively. Eric Lacey was the 15th-place finisher after crossing the line in 28:57.96.

All four runners were named to the 2011 All-CACC Team.

Didier Barjon had the Rams’ final scoring position after winning a three-man battle for 26th with a time of 30.20.19. Scott Murphy came in 28th with a time of 30.20.68. Franklin Overstreet finished the event in 48th place (32.28.11).

PhilaU men’s and women’s cross country teams will next compete at the NCAA Division II East Region Championship on Sunday, Nov. 6 at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass.

Posted in University Headlines