PhilaU Recognizes Distinguished Teachers at 2013 Faculty Reception

Philadelphia University honored members of its faculty for their hard work and commitment to academic excellence at the 2013 Faculty Reception on May 3.

President Stephen Spinelli Jr., Ph.D., presented awards to several faculty members for their distinguished service to the University, including Stacey Van Dahm, Ph.D., assistant professor of literature and writing, who received the 2013 President’s Award for Excellence.

The President’s Award for Excellence recognizes a distinguished PhilaU faculty member for her dedication and commitment to educating her students. Van Dahm is known as a passionate teacher who challenges her students to put forth their best effort. She has been a favorite professor and inspiration to many.

Katharine Jones, Ph.D., associate professor of sociology, was honored with a special portrait unveiling as the recipient of the 2012 President’s Award for Excellence. The portrait will be exhibited in the Paul J. Gutman Library with those of previous recipients.

The 2013 Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award was presented to Susan Frostén, assistant professor of architecture, acknowledging her outstanding service to the University and her students in the classroom. The award was presented by Provost Randy Swearer, Ph.D.

Philadelphia University also recognized these distinguished adjunct faculty:

  • Shannon Kaplan, College of Architecture and the Built Environment
  • Dana Scott, Kanbar College of Design, Engineering and Commerce
  • Sharon Kornelly, College of Science, Health and the Liberal Arts
  • Joseph Bucci, School of Continuing and Professional Studies

The University also recognized new retirees Jane Likens, associate professor of fashion design, and Maureen Roberts, associate professor of design.

Posted in University Headlines