PhilaU to Hold Inaugural Induction Ceremony for Counseling Honor Society

DeltaDelta Sigma Mu, the Philadelphia University chapter of the national counseling honor society Chi Sigma Iota, will hold its inaugural induction ceremony on Sunday, May 7, at 2 p.m. in the Kanbar Performance Space. Delta Sigma Mu will be inducting 41 graduate students from the community and trauma counseling (CTC) program. To be eligible for induction, students must be able to demonstrate the traits, dispositions and characteristics of professional counselors, as well as maintain a 3.5 GPA.

Delta Sigma Mu was named in honor of PhilaU associate professor Dale Michaels, who was instrumental in the foundation of the CTC program, said Astra Czerny, assistant professor and faculty advisor for Delta Sigma Mu. Michaels will be the guest speaker at the induction ceremony.

In addition to the induction of the students, two scholarship awards and a faculty appreciation award will be presented at the ceremony—the Daniel Gerstein Memorial Award, the Delta Sigma Mu Emerging Professional Award and the Delta Sigma Mu Faculty Appreciation Award.

“To have an inaugural induction with so many students being initiated is very exciting for us,” Czerny said. “The students have worked hard to earn this honor and establish the Delta Sigma Mu chapter. It has been an honor to be a part of this special endeavor.”

Posted in University Headlines